Change the world


Four first year BCur students were involved with the Smile Foundation on 14 and 15 August 2012 at Pyotte 5 Ward, Provincial Hospital, and Port Elizabeth. Shermondaley Brophy, Leelyn Aereboe, Kara Canjar and Saadiqua Abrahams assisted with pre- and post-operative care, and were given an opportunity to accompany patients to theatre.

The Smile Foundation is a registered Section 21 non-profit organisation (NPO) that was established in 2000 at the request of its Chief Patron, Mr Nelson Mandela. The primary focus of the Smile Foundation is to address the medical backlog in the public healthcare system in dealing with children who are burn victims or who suffer from treatable facial abnormalities such as Cleft Lip and Palate and Moebius syndrome (facial paralysis) and other conditions.